What writing a book with git looks like

Posted on | December 10, 2015

This morning on Twitter, someone posted their commit log for a book they’d written. The commit messages read “Book,” “Book and stuff,” “I erased a bunch of stuff,” “Book stuff,” “More stuff,” etc. etc. Basically, a bad commit log.

I decided, in the interests of science! to show my work. ¬†While a lot of it is “stuff,” there are some interesting tidbits, like “Making room here for a straight sex scene,” and my favorite, “Please stop talking and start boinking, girls.” ¬†Note that it is in reverse order, most recent at the top:

Sun Aug 2, 2015 Getting ready for final epub edition.
Sat Jul 18, 2015 Stuff and nonsense.
Thu Jul 9, 2015 Fixing markdown issue.
Wed Jul 1, 2015 Star Kingdom: The End.
Wed Jun 24, 2015 Whoa. *Star Kingdom* is done.
Thu Jun 4, 2015 More renamed than deleted.
Thu Jun 4, 2015 Working toward a better Boomer, and cleaning up the epilogue.
Thu May 21, 2015 So close to the end of Star Kingdom now.
Fri May 8, 2015 Lots of updates.
Thu Apr 23, 2015 Make it sew.
Wed Apr 1, 2015 A makefile? What is the world coming to?
Wed Apr 1, 2015 Don’t track epubs.
Wed Apr 1, 2015 Update.
Fri Mar 27, 2015 Some fixes, for Tumblr and FanFic.
Fri Mar 27, 2015 Lots of fixes, updates, getting to the last act.
Mon Mar 23, 2015 More great sex.
Wed Mar 18, 2015 Change of pace. Please stop talking and start boinking, girls.
Mon Mar 16, 2015 Less talking, more sex.
Tue Mar 10, 2015 Moved to the ‘kidnapping’ scene.
Fri Mar 6, 2015 Lengthening the plot.
Wed Mar 4, 2015 Breathless revised by voice read. Fragile prepped for Tumblr. Walk With Me prepped for FanFic.
Mon Mar 2, 2015 Slowly fixing the forward series.
Sun Feb 15, 2015 Lyren leaves. Sien pines.
Sun Feb 15, 2015 I have better versions planned.
Sun Feb 15, 2015 Updates. Grand Jujube is ridiculous, but…
Sat Feb 14, 2015 Updates with typo fixings.
Mon Feb 9, 2015 Gene/Rachel sex scene accomplished.
Sat Feb 7, 2015 Really moving along now.
Sun Jan 18, 2015 Moved some stuff around to make room for straight sex.
Sun Jan 4, 2015 Moving filenames to something pandoc and emacs handle better.
Thu Dec 25, 2014 Updated.
Tue Dec 23, 2014 Finished Boomer. Working on Star Kingdom plot as it winds along.
Wed Dec 3, 2014 Update. Spell check.
Sat Nov 8, 2014 Boomer is doing pretty good.
Tue Oct 28, 2014 Getting somewhere slowly.
Wed Oct 22, 2014 Update.
Mon Oct 20, 2014 Here comes the next big set piece.
Mon Oct 20, 2014 Polish pass, plus moving into crisis for act 2.
Wed Oct 8, 2014 Small fixes for flow.
Wed Oct 8, 2014 Added titles and stuff. Moving to Markdown permanently.
Wed Oct 8, 2014 Checkpoint.
Mon Sep 29, 2014 Reworking the love scene.
Wed Sep 17, 2014 Working up to chapter 14
Sun Sep 14, 2014 Clean up.
Mon Sep 8, 2014 Review. Still stuck on identifying the bad guys.
Sun Sep 7, 2014 Edit pass.
Sun Aug 31, 2014 Sounds like progress.
Thu Jul 24, 2014 Post-sex-scene conversation.
Wed Jul 23, 2014 Updating the plot.
Sun Jul 20, 2014 Thinking about revamping chapter one to make the dialogue between Ericka and Garrit less a mirror of the kingdom’s “democracy” and more a kitchen table afair.
Thu Jul 10, 2014 The love scene is moving on up.
Tue Jul 8, 2014 Lyren and Sien, Sittin’ in a Tree…
Sat Jul 5, 2014 Updating.
Sun Jun 29, 2014 Star Kingdom under way. Boomer under way.
Wed Jun 25, 2014 It’s starting to look like a novel again. Yay!
Sat Jun 21, 2014 Still working on that outline.
Sat May 24, 2014 Updated.
Tue May 13, 2014 Different plot engaged, captain.
Thu May 8, 2014 Clearing out a chapter for a new direction. This is the point in a space opera novel where the shit always hits the fan much, much harder.
Tue May 6, 2014 Re-arranged sequence.
Tue May 6, 2014 Through the second attack. But now the ramifications have to be more.
Sat Apr 19, 2014 Revised Lyren’s injuries to make her sex-capable.
Thu Apr 17, 2014 Star Kingdom first pass.

Comments

One Response to “What writing a book with git looks like”

  1. Larry Fenske
    December 11th, 2015 @ 10:52 am

    Most projects that exist on a computer can benefit from a Makefile. And source control.

Leave a Reply